Mouth meets text – Lost in interpretation

I am very interested in the subject of phonetic transcription.

I would like to explore the “gap” between the written and the spoken word, and question myself how the written word meets the requirements of the spoken word. After last weeks peer group meeting I researched into the field of written/spoken language. My research led me to the very broad area of phonetic transcriptions. I found out that I am particularly interested in the subarea of applied phonetics – experimental phonetics, which is displayed in the IPA:

The International Phonetic Alphabet is an alphabetic system of phonetic notation based primarily on the Latin alphabet. It was devised by the International Phonetic Association as a standardized representation of the sounds of spoken language. The IPA is used by foreign language students and teachers, linguists, speech pathologists and therapists, singers, actors, lexicographers, artificial language enthusiasts and translators.

It is designed to represent only those qualities of speech that are distinctive in spoken language: phonemes, intonation, and the separation of words and syllables. To represent additional qualities of speech such as tooth gnashing, lisping, and sounds made with a cleft palate, an extended set of symbols called the Extensions to the IPA may be used.

For my investigations I am using the poem “The Panther” in which I first came across phonetic transcriptions during my various dissections for Unit 1. This time I will (maybe) concentrate on metaphors or single words only.

Elective A “Printing methods” generated a second filed of interest, which are misprints. With misprints I mean prints that are slightly out of focus and/ or reveal the “concept” of the composition. For example by showing “gaps” between layers and thereby creating new perspectives.

I would like to combine these two fields of interests as one is more theoretical and the other is more practical.

By carrying out a series of practical experiments I am aiming to visualize the discrepancy between the english written word and the word written in phonetic letters. So to say my own graphical interpretation for the gap.

Posted on April 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

